Photo © by Scott Beacher

Image 1 of 2

If you have photos from this show write us at fugazilive[at]dischord.com .


By: Antti V over 1 year ago

Fugazi in the middle of the short but sweet 1999 December US tour. Ex-Spectator fades in and thus we miss any opening remarks, but are instead treated with a great sounding recording where the mix settles relatively fast. This tape is another powerhouse showcase of Brendan's drumming, as the drums sound fantastic and command the stereo field. The vocals are a bit low on volume occasionally, and the mix loses the wide stereo field feel (doesn't go full mono) for a few tracks towards the end of the main set, but otherwise this is a fine recording.

The band hits an energetic flow right away, and highlights include a bombastic Do You Like Me and a massive Reclamation. The first interlude has the band jamming on a cool riff that I suspect is one of those "link tracks" the they must have a million in the archives.

During Birthday Pony we can listen how Ian handles a potential stage diver, and luckily the other guys are able to keep the groove going in the meantime.

The show moves forward and one highlight is an inspired rendition of the new track Oh. The double drumming gives it a really nice dimension, as is the case whenever Mr. Jerry Busher joins the band on stage. We almost get a great flow from Oh via Recap Modotti to Closed Captioned, but instead get some fun banter from Ian as he comments on a few patron's behavior. Later, when Closed Captioned's amazing ending jam flows seamlessly to Burning, it's a guaranteed mind-blower.

By: Antti V over 1 year ago

Promises grinds to a complete halt due to some rowdy behavior in the crowd, but after that the band gets into full flow mode. Floating Boy again feels like an awesome live jam and moves seamlessly to a sweet Long Division. Interestingly the last moments before the encore break are filled with Fugazi's "hits", if you will. A real crowd pleaser then, and a delight to listen to, and I'm glad there seems to be a better atmosphere in the room. Personal favorite Number 5 gets one of the strongest, double drum-fueled treatings I've heard so far.

The encores offer both tenderness and energy. Argument has an introduction by Ian and it's cool to hear a little insight from the man. Arpeggiator acts as the goodbye track, and the drum duo of Brendan and Jerry shines brightly once more.

Another nice and full recording from the era where the setlists covered the whole repertoire. Recommended!

By: michael cook about 8 years ago

thank you for this

By: Kenneth Ramsey over 9 years ago

So glad to finally have a copy of this show! Great memories!

By: Chris Estey over 11 years ago

Same here, I'll check back periodically.

Log in to comment

Fugazi Live Series FLS0958 Fugazi Atlanta, GA USA 12/17/1999

If you had a different price in mind for this download Click Here.
Show Date:
Door Price:
Played with:
 Allscars, Faraquet
Recorded by
 Nick Pellicciotto
Mastered by
 Warren Russell-Smith
Original Source:
Sound Quality:
 Poor Good Very Good Excellent
Play Sample Track
1. Ex-Spectator Instrumental
2. Break
3. Place Position
4. Greed
5. Do You Like Me
6. Reclamation
7. Sieve-Fisted Find
8. Interlude 1
9. Birthday Pony
10. FD
11. Interlude 2
12. Merchandise
13. Oh
14. Recap Modotti
15. Interlude 3
16. Closed Captioned
17. Burning
18. Interlude 4
19. Promises
20. Floating Boy
21. Long Division
22. Blueprint
23. Waiting Room
24. Interlude 5
25. Number 5
26. Encore
27. No Surprise
28. Argument
29. Target
30. Interlude 6
31. Instrument
32. Interlude 7
33. Arpeggiator

Please Note: Available recordings have been mastered to correct for volume shifts, drop outs, etc. but some sonic anomalies will still exist, especially early in the set when the mix is being settled. The band has rated each show for sound quality and set the general price of a download at $5 per show. If you have a different price in mind feel free to utilize the alternative pricing option.